Poking around the web for my initials (LdeG), I found a post on a gene I share, at Basically Balanced.  I too have a problem with waste, inherited from my father, who always say “Use it up, wear it out, make it do, do without.”

I also share Carol’s thought that

There are so many times I wish I had an “off” button for my mind and hopefully this will help!

While too much reading of political blogs and on-line newspaper comments can be depressing, there are also all those like Carol and me, who are thinking through their lives and sharing those thoughts.  Most of us, I think, are not trying to  impress, or convince, or gain a following, just to work through who and where we are – and leave a record for whoever might find it.  How wonderful that so many are willing to share, and that we can have glimpses into other’s lives – and not just those we know, but those with different lives and points of view who we might otherwise never meet.

I’m working on adding more links to the Inspiration list in the sidebar.  There are all sorts of lives and points of view there, but all of them share a willingness to lead an “examined life” and share it, which is what I find inspiring.

Perhaps someone might say, “Socrates, can you not go away from us and live quietly, without talking?” Now this is the hardest thing to make some of you believe. For if I say that such conduct would be disobedience to the god and that therefore I cannot keep quiet, you will think I am jesting and will not believe me; and if again I say that to talk every day about virtue and the other things about which you hear me talking and examining myself and others is the greatest good to man, and that the unexamined life is not worth living, you will believe me still less. This is as I say, gentlemen, but it is not easy to convince you.

– Socrates, as reported in Plato’s Apologia

Of course, they weren’t convinced, and he was condemned to death.

